wonderful book

God is so good! He has provided so many ways to teach me about Himself and to point me towards righteousness. I am reading a wonderful book called Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss. It tells the story of her life through her journal entries, and it has so many wonderful insights into God’s love and forgiveness and into striving towards holiness. I know I sin in so many ways each day, but the examples that this woman sets, even in talking about her mistakes, are priceless because they show her growth over the years. I long to have the patience that she had and to see everything that I come up against as a gift from God for my good. I want to see the people I find difficult to be around as tools God is using to make me more like His Son and trials I face as events that push me closer to Jesus. My trials and temptations are not new, and God wants to use them to refine me. I am so thankful for this!

I started writing this a few days ago, and I have been interested to see the way my thoughts have changed in just a short time. I’ ve known the truths in that book for a long time, but it’s so easy to forget to apply them to daily life. What a fitting reminder I had from reading Stepping Heavenward this weekend, since yesterday and today have been filled with those little daily trials that so easily discourage me. I don’t always meet the challenges or think of the trials as I should, but with Christ’s help, I hope to see each part of life as He sees it.

Published in: on July 18, 2005 at 2:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2005/07/18/wonderful-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

