Here I am

Well, it’s been about a month since I wrote anything on here, and since a few people have asked me what I’ve been up to, I figured I’d update this thing.  It’s funny, ’cause I’ve been at home more in the past month than many of the other times when I found time to write, but I have been “too busy.”  I guess I’ve really just found other things to do and haven’t had much to say.  One of the things I’ve been enjoying instead of writing is reading more blogs.  I’ve added 10 or 20 new blogs to my bloglines reader, and once I’ve decided on the ones I like the best, I’ll add some of them to the blogroll over on the right.  Most of the blogs I’m reading are by Christian women who write about homemaking, raising children, and words of wisdom that they’ve learned as they grow in their walk with Christ.  I really appreciate these blogs, including one by my sister, because they encourage my faith and teach me to rely on God more.  I have realized, however, that I’m missing something these days.  While I can read a lot online about these things, I miss the everyday interaction that I used to have with godly women in college and earlier.  I have been praying a lot about meeting with another woman (or a small group of women), but as yet nothing has come of it.  I wish that I had started doing this when we first got to Dallas!  Right now I’m tempted to say that we’ll be leaving soon anyway, so what’s the point of starting.  However, I know that plans change frequently for missionaries, and we may not be able to go to the field long-term for a while now.  So…all that to say that I am hoping to start meeting with an older woman to learn to “love my husband…to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to my husband, so that no one will malign the word of God.”

One of the things that I love about staying home is that I have so much more time to be frugal.  I have been baking a lot lately, and I also continued the cheese-making that I started a few months ago.  (I still have not made hard cheeses because I cannot find any rennet at local stores.)  This week I have been cleaning the house after our Thanksgiving trip, and I am beginning to get Christmas decorations out.  We don’t have a tree yet, but I’m hoping we’ll be able to get one once it stops raining.  I think we might get a fake tree this year, which is one of the saddest things I’ve ever heard of! 😉  Real trees are SO nice, but there aren’t really many around here, so they’re more expensive than in Virginia.  Unless we can find one “on sale,” I think we’ll go with one of the free fake ones on campus.

Another activity I’ve enjoyed lately is sewing.  I’ve made a few Christmas presents, I’m in the process of making a skirt, and I have a whole list of other things I want to sew.  I’m using my Singer sewing machine.  It was Mama’s, and it’s been used for many years, but it still works well!  I’ve even been told that if I take a sewing machine to Africa with us, I should take the Singer since it doesn’t have as many bells and whistles that can break as the new machines do.  All I need to do is find an attachment that will make it do a zigzag stitch, and I’ll be perfectly satisfied with it.  I’ll have to post pictures of my skirt soon!

Published in: on November 30, 2006 at 11:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2006/11/30/here-i-am/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

