completely homemade chicken noodle soup

This weekend it was quite cold in our house, and I decided that we needed some yummy soup to warm us up. We’d had a chicken earlier in the week, and I’d picked the bones clean, boiled the bones to make stock, and added the meat in again. This was in my refrigerator just waiting for soup, so I pulled it out and took the fat off of the top. I decided that I was in the mood for chicken noodle soup, but we didn’t have any noodles. I remembered seeing a recipe for noodles on Hillbilly Housewife, so I found the recipe and began.

I put the stock and meat on the stove on high. Then, I mixed the ingredients and rolled out the dough. (This picture is from when I already cut some of the noodles.)

rolled-out dough

Then I used a pizza cutter to slice the dough into thin strips. (Some of them weren’t extremely thin. It’s hard to keep them uniform.)

Sliced noodle dough

Next I began dropping the noodles into the boiling chicken stock, and I let them cook for 20-30 minutes.

cooking noodles

While these were cooking, I cut out the rest of the noodles and put them on wax paper. I ended up with so many extra that I decided to try freezing them to see if they’d save for spaghetti later in the week. I rolled the paper up and put them in a freezer bag.

noodles ready to freeze

By this time, the soup was ready! I wish I could include the smell along with the picture. It was SO good!homemade chicken noodle soup

Next time I will try to roll the dough out a little thinner. It was amazing how much the noodles increased in size! I look forward to using this recipe again to make all sorts of pasta. I might even try some ravioli!

Published in: on December 5, 2006 at 10:35 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2006/12/05/completely-homemade-chicken-noodle-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. love this–i’m new to the hillbilly housewife website; this is the second mention of it (in my realm) within two weeks. i guess i need to check it out.


Leave a Reply

