My 100th post: A name change and looking back

It’s official. My blog will no longer have a boring name. I decided that with the arrival of my 100th post, I should give my blog a name change and a makeover.

As I was trying to decide what the blog’s name should be, I considered some of the suggestions I was given a few months ago when I first mentioned the name change. My favorite was The Linguist’s Wife. But then I started thinking about what I want as the focus of my blog. I want to share our adventures when we travel and the work that we’ll be doing, but most of all, I want to share my daily life and my thoughts. I want to share my triumphs and my struggles. At this point in my life, the main role I am learning to fill is that of a wife. Someday, the role of a mother will come as well, but the wifely role will still come first. Because of this, I’ve decided to name my blog “Becoming a Daughter of Sarah.” There are many places in the Bible that talk about a wife’s role, and one that I’ve studied lately is I Peter 3:1-6.

1Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, 2when they see the purity and reverence of your lives. 3Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. 4Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 5For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands, 6like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her master. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.”

God praises Sarah for obeying her husband Abraham, and he says that we are her daughters when we follow her example. Although I am nowhere near perfection, I am learning in little ways how to honor Bryan and how to respect and obey him. I want respect to be the defining characteristic of the way I relate to Bryan since Ephesians 5:33 says that wives should respect their husbands. I would like this blog to be a record of my as I follow the Lord in this way and as I try to learn to be a better wife in every aspect of my day.

I read through my first 99 posts, and I was interested to see the changes over the past (almost) two years. When I began the blog, Bryan and I were in North Dakota finishing our last summer of linguistics courses there. We then moved to Dallas, and the majority of my posts were made as I worked in the housing office on our campus. We moved from the mobile home on campus to our current house about three miles away, and after a few months, I quit my job to raise support and take classes. I completed the classes in the end of January, and we were already preparing to go to _country_ by then! It is so neat to see God working in our lives and in our plans, especially when things don’t turn out how we thought they would. He knows a better way for events to go, and it is so good to trust in Him!

 

Published in: on April 26, 2007 at 2:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2007/04/26/my-100th-post-a-name-change-and-looking-back/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

