baskets

p1040062small.jpg
Although I haven’t been posting regularly, I have been thinking of blogging often, and so I have taken numerous pictures over the past few months meaning to post them on here. These are a few pictures I took in May when I was wanting to find a cheap and attractive way to store some of my yarn stash. I wanted to put the yarn in baskets, but I didn’t want it to be ruined by getting stuck on the rough spots of the baskets. I looked around at many different stores, but all of the lined baskets were over $10 a piece, which I was not willing to pay.

I found some baskets that looked like ones you’d use for apple-picking for $3 or $4 each, and I got three of them. However, the were rough inside and didn’t look as nice as I wanted them to, so I decided to line them. I picked up some white cotton fabric and ribbon at the boutique’s sewing room. (The “boutique” is a building full of free items that have been donated for those working in our group of organizations, and the sewing room is my absolute favorite part!) I cut out and sewed the fabric into three different covers for my baskets, and pictures are below!

I sewed the inside of each basket:

p1040032small.jpg

I added different outer edges to each one, leaving room for the handles:

p1040040small.jpg

I cushioned the handles and wrapped the white ribbon around them:

p1040045small.jpg

Finally, I used elastic to finish one of the baskets and tied ribbon around the outside of the other two.

p1040076small.jpg

p1040087small.jpg

p1040078small.jpg

p1040081small.jpg

Published in: on July 3, 2007 at 3:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2007/07/03/baskets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

