unpacking

Well, it’s officially been a week and a half since Bryan left, so I’m about a fourth of the way through. I’m excited that he was able to go on the trip, but it’s definitely hard having him go away for so long. However, Mama’s coming tomorrow to keep me company, and I can’t wait! 🙂 While unpacking this week, I’ve been doing a few things to get ready for her to come, like finding a mattress and box spring on Craigslist.com. I already had a bed frame. My friend Amanda came with me in her husband’s new truck, and we picked up the mattress this afternoon. We were probably quite a sight tying it down!  There we were, two women, one pregnant, in a parking lot with bungee cords and ropes trying to figure out how to tie a mattress set down tight enough to go onto the highway without losing it and causing an accident.  We tugged and pulled on the bungee cords, and at one point, I was sitting on top of the box spring while she tied knots so that she’d have slack on the ropes.  After a good 30 minutes, we finally got it situated, and we made it safely home with both pieces. 🙂  It was definitely an adventure. 🙂

Unpacking is going well.  I have the kitchen almost completely finished, and the other rooms are coming along slowly but surely.  I know Bryan will be happy to come back to a home instead of to a house with boxes all over. 🙂

One great surprise since Bryan’s been gone is the amount of communication we’ve been able to have.  He has been able to email many times, and I’ve even gotten to talk to him on the phone twice for very short calls.  The reason he’s been able to communicate so much is that he and one of his teammates have been sick, so they were stuck in a larger town where they were able to get medical help and where they found internet access.  They are finally better now, for which I’m very thankful!  They will be leaving the larger town sometime soon, so I won’t be able to hear from him as often.  It’s a good thing Mama will be here!  We’ll keep busy, and I won’t be so lonely since she’ll be with me. 🙂

I’m sitting with my laptop pressing close to my lower stomach, and while I’ve been typing, Baby has been kicking at the computer.  He/she was kicking a lot this afternoon!  I had my Josh Groban cds playing while I was unpacking in the living room, and I think Baby liked the music. 🙂  Maybe I’ll notice more kicking tomorrow at church!

Published in: on March 15, 2008 at 8:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2008/03/15/unpacking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

