Lots of pictures!

24 weeks along!Well, here I am again after a long absence. I have been busy growing our baby, as you can see from this picture! Bryan is finally home, and I’m SO glad to have him back again! He had the camera with him while he was gone, so I saved up all sorts of things to take pictures of and post once he got back. My blog has started doing pictures differently since the last time I posted, so we’ll see if I can get it to work correctly.

One great blessing while Bryan was gone was that Mama was able to come visit me for almost a whole week! We had a wonderful time together, and I really enjoyed her company! We got SO much done while she was here. We reupholstered a rocking lounge chair that I will use when the baby comes. Unfortunately I don’t have a before picture, but here is the finished product!

reupholstered chair reupholstered chair reupholstered chair close-up of material

I think the new material makes a huge difference in the appearance of the chair, and I’m excited that it matches in my living room where it is now as well as in our bedroom where we will put it soon.

Another thing Mama and I did was plant a vegetable garden. I finally have pictures of my little plants. I’m putting a lot of small pictures below, and you can click on them if you want to see larger versions. (If you look at this page on Internet Explorer instead of Firefox, you should see the captions so you’ll know what plants they are. For some reason Firefox isn’t showing the captions on my computer.) I’m very excited about the cucumbers. The first time I planted the seeds, they didn’t spout because I had them in too much shade. Now they are in full sun, and they’re finally sprouting!

rosemary cilantro artichoke artichoke pumpkin cherry tomatoes cherry tomatoes tomatoes cucumbers! green bell peppers spinach rosebush, mint, Bryan's

That final picture is in our back yard instead of the side yard with the other plants. I trimmed a rosebush just after Mama left, and it’s sprouting again. I also planted the mint when she left. At the very top of the picture, you can see some rocks and charcoal along with a grate. I bought some steaks for Bryan to have when he got home since he hadn’t eaten much good meat while he was gone. He surprised me by cooking the steaks on the ground as he had watched people do on his trip! Those steaks were SO delicious! I was impressed. πŸ™‚

In order to have a place for Mama to stay, I worked on organizing the guest room/baby room. It’s a little crowded with the exercise bike in there, but it seems to work alright.

guest room/baby room guest room/baby room

We received the pack ‘n play in the mail the other day, and I already have it set up in our bedroom! (Thank you so much, Debbie!) We’ll keep Baby in with us until family finishes visiting, and then we’ll probably move the pack ‘n play into Baby’s room.

pack 'n play

On one of the nights just before Bryan’s return, I was running out of things to do on my to-do list before he got back, and I was feeling somewhat creative. I decided that our bedroom looked bare and boring, and that I wanted to paint something to put up on the wall. The lady who lived here before us left a lot of pictures and picture frames, and while I disliked most of the pictures, some of the frames were nice. I decided to take one of the large ones and paint over what was inside. (Don’t worry, it was just a print that had a price tag for about $10, so I didn’t paint over anything valuable!) πŸ™‚ I decided that I would focus on putting paint down on the paper instead of letting my perfectionist tendencies get in the way like I usually do, and that I would have something to put up by the end of the night, no matter what it looked like. Usually I spend days or weeks on something and am never satisfied enough to actually display it, or I never actually complete it. But this time I was surprised with the result! I still see flaws in it, but I can more easily accept them. Bryan is encouraging me to paint more of these, and I just might. πŸ™‚

painting, view at Hanshill painting, view at Hanshill

Now that Bryan and I have had some time to catch up, we’re starting to get back to regular daily life. So this afternoon while I was taking pictures, I thought I’d get a shot of my dear husband as he worked in his garage. (Yes, he still has the goatee!) πŸ™‚ I’m so glad to have him home!

Bryan in his garage

Published in: on April 20, 2008 at 6:50 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2008/04/20/lots-of-pictures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The picture is REALLY good! I especially love it that you did it in such a short period! I hope you will paint more!!!!!

  2. The side pasture at Hanshill! Meg, that is beautiful–I love it!!!
    How long did it take you to do that?
    Also, you are so cute! I love the new tummy picture!
    And your garden looks great. Know that you are so glad he’s home.

  3. Sorry….obviously, it is me writing and not Joe. (I don’t think he even uses exclamation marks!!!) I don’t have a wordpress account.

  4. Wow!Meg! Obviously the side pasture at Hanshill. I love it. You should paint all the time!
    And you look wonderful. I know it is more than wonderful to have Bryan home! Hoep you will be coming soon for a visit.
    Love,Meg

  5. Uhh, Meg….you’ve got every present decided on for the next 50 years! That picture was amazing!!!!!!!!!! Can I send you a canvas and have you paint one for me for my birthday? Seriously?? 2 hours? You totally have the gene, and you should use it all the time! Heck, you should sell them! Seriously! Please, please, please paint one a week…really!! That was amazing!
    Fantastic job. So glad Bryan is home safely!
    Love, Laura

  6. […] You might remember last year in March and April when I was working on a garden while Bryan was in Africa. Sometime during the summer, the garden was abandoned after I discovered […]


Leave a Reply

