Soaker for Sew Crafty Friday

Sew Crafty Friday

Sew Crafty Friday

My time has been quite full lately preparing for Baby’s arrival. Along with the usual nesting activities like washing baby clothes, cleaning, and organizing, I’ve been inspired to really learn to knit. My grandmother gave me a nice set of knitting needles two Christmases ago, and I learned to cast on, knit, and purl using some excellent online videos at knittinghelp.com. However, I didn’t really use these new skills for anything other than a swatch that became a scarf for my niece’s baby doll.

One part of my preparation for baby has been collecting supplies for cloth diapering. I’ve looked at lots of options and gotten advice from my sister Hallie who has cloth diapered her boys. I’ve decided that while I want to have a few store-bought covers for the cloth diapers, I also want to make a few wool ones myself. Here’s where the knitting comes in. I joined a wool soaker group on Yahoo, and I crocheted a pattern from that site, but then it said you should knit around the leg holes and waistband to make cuffs. In the last year and a half, I’d forgotten most of what I’d learned, but I picked it up again pretty easily after watching the online videos. I completed that soaker/cloth diaper cover, and I decided I wanted to try one that was completely knitted. So here is what I have so far: half of a soaker, still in the works. 🙂

Back of Soaker

Back of Soaker

Front of Soaker

Front of Soaker

Side ribbing of Soaker

Side ribbing of Soaker

Now I’m at the point where I will add in the “gusset” or the connection between bottom front and back, and I will add cuffs for the legs, and then I think I’m finished! I’m really excited about this project because I got to learn a few new knitting tricks, like adding short rows to make the back of the soaker bigger (taller) than the front. I’ll post more pictures when I’m finished!

Published in: on July 5, 2008 at 1:09 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2008/07/05/soaker-for-sew-crafty-friday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can’t wait to see it when you are finished! And your latest picture is SO good!
    Love, M

  2. I think you’re doing a great job! And I’m sure baby will think it is perfect, LOL!

  3. This is awesome! Great job!


Leave a Reply

