Midwife appointment

We had our home visit today from the midwife, and it went well! The main thing I was worried about for today’s visit was the blood test that would check my iron levels. My iron was low before, and if it got any lower before birth and stayed that low, I wouldn’t be able to have a home birth. However, when we tested it today, it had gone up a lot! I’m now at 11.4, and (according to my internet searching) it is normal for pregnant women to have a level anywhere from 11 to 12. The nice thing was that I didn’t even have to take extra iron supplements to get it to go up to that level. I just took my regular prenatal vitamin regularly, and I was sure to take it with something other than milk. (Before about a month ago, I took my vitamin with milk, and the calcium apparently kept the iron from being absorbed.)

The rest of the appointment was pretty routine. We talked more about what the home birth will be like, about the roles of the different midwives who will be here, and about what Bryan and I are expecting and wanting to have happen that day. I was also given an herbal supplement to start taking each day that is supposed to help prepare my body for giving birth.

With a little less than a month to go before the due date, I have all the preparations completed that I absolutely wanted to have done before Baby’s birth. I have small things that still can be done, like freezing a few more meals or cleaning our guest bathroom really well. These kinds of thing can keep me busy for the next month, and I also plan to do a lot of knitting and crocheting. Believe it or not, I still haven’t made a baby blanket for Baby yet!! My list of things to make includes finishing knitting a blue hat, knitting a pink hat, knitting a white hat, either knitting or crocheting a white blanket, and possibly crocheting more baby booties. If I complete all of those and still Baby hasn’t arrived, I’ll have to find something else to make!

Published in: on July 16, 2008 at 4:14 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2008/07/16/midwife-appointment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hello! I saw your post on the yahoo soaker forum and thought I would check out your site. I am glad I did! I am also expecting and planning on delivery with a midwife. I had a birthing center birth with my last child with a midwife and doula and it was wonderful. We will be doing a home birth this time around. My husband’s name is also Brian. :o) God bless!


Leave a Reply

