so many new things!

What a great day Kate and I have had together! (Unfortunately I don’t have pictures since our camera was out of batteries.) We started the day off well by sleeping until 7:30, and we had a quiet morning. Kate went down for her morning nap around 9:30, and I went on a walk & got ready for the day before she woke up. After her nap, I set her down to play on a blanket nearby as I was sewing. Last night I had started making a Mei Tai baby carrier for her. I already had the pieces cut and the shoulder straps sewn, so I just had to iron it all, pin it together, sew it together, and topstitch. (I used this pattern with a few changes and some VERY cute upholstery fabric that Mama gave me when she was cleaning out her sewing room.)  I can’t wait to post a picture of it! Kate took her afternoon nap before I was finished, and I was so excited about it when I finished that I wanted to wake her up to try it out. I didn’t, of course, but I wanted to. 🙂 When she woke up and we tried it out, it worked really well and she seemed to like being carried in it. I strapped her on my back and got a lot of housework done before dinner, and she didn’t fuss one bit!

One fun thing about the day was that this was the first day I decided to see how long we could go without using a diaper. It was as if she’d been waiting for me to try that! She went from 11 AM (after her first nap) until bedtime without needing a diaper, and there was only one time on the blanket when I didn’t take her to the bathroom soon enough. She even stayed dry during her two and a half hour afternoon nap! A day like today gets me excited about EC and IPT all over again! 🙂

The final excitement of the day was at dinner time. Kate has been trying to eat a few new things here and there, like last night when she had her first Cheerios. Tonight she had her first fruit, and she loved it! Mama gave us a baby food mill, and I used it to puree a cooked apple. I was expecting to have to mix the apple with some oatmeal baby cereal to get her to eat it since it was a little tart, but she ate it all by itself!

This is really such a fun age! She is learning SO many new things, and she seems so happy about all of it! It’s hard not to catch some of her enthusiasm and cheerfulness. 🙂 What a little blessing she is!

Published in: on March 10, 2009 at 7:33 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://megs.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/so-many-new-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Megs! Thankyou for commenting and letting me know a little about your story! Daniel is in aviation currently, so we’ll be going with JAARS so most of our training will be in Waxhaw, N.C. You mentioned you guys are looking toward Africa for survey work/translation possibly? Daniel and I will be receiving our invite to serve in Cameroon soon! We are not completely sure that is where God is leading, but will move that direction unless God leads somewhere else. Can I ask where you might be headed in Africa? Do you have a tentative arrival date? We will either go summer 2010 or 2011 depending on support raising since the aviation training only happens once a year in Feb-May. I’d love to keep in touch as you are able! 🙂 Rachael


Leave a Reply

